2019-2020 Travel Dates and Dorm Closing

Key Travel Dates 2019-2020

Tuesday August 27 Student leaders arrive
Wednesday August 28 New international students arrive
Saturday August 31 New domestic students arrive
Sunday September 1 All returning students arrive
Monday October 14 Mid-fall break begins dorms close 10 a.m.
Sunday October 20 Students return between 3:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m.
Sunday November 24 Thanksgiving Break dorms close at 10 a.m.
Sunday December 1 Students return between 3:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m
Sunday December 15 Winter Break begins dorms close at 10:00 a.m.
Thursday January 2 Students return between 3:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m
Thursday January 30 Mid-trimester break begins after classes dorms remain open
Sunday February 2 Students return between 3:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m
Friday March 6 Spring Break begins dorms close at 10:00 a.m.
Monday March 23 Students return between 3:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m
Sunday June 7 Graduation Dorms close 5:00 p.m.

Winter Weather Day

In the event of snow or other inclement weather, day students should not drive to or from school. Students should remain at home until the roads are clear, or make arrangements by contacting Karen Guttentag in the Dean’s Office to stay overnight whenever necessary. If students are going to be late or absent because of winter weather, they are asked to notify the Health Office before 9 a.m., 802-387-6221, the same procedure as for absences due to illness. If that line is busy, you may also call the Dean’s Office at 802-387-6256.

Travel Links

Below are links which may be helpful for students and parents when investigating or making airline— or train reservations. Once you have made travel reservations (by phone, Internet, or travel agent) please make sure to let Ryan Hockerlotz know your travel plans.

Ryan also coordinates bus service to airports and to the Brattleboro train station. Before and after major school vacations, school vans will provide bus and train pickup in Brattleboro, but students will need to sign up with Ryan so that bus reservations can be made. In the absence of pickup arrangements, you may need to take a taxi. Please resist the temptation to make travel arrangements during times which would jeopardize valuable class time. Questions about irregular departure for a break or return from a break should be directed to Karen Guttentag, Dean of Students.

Coordinate travel plans with Ryan Hockertlotz.

To avoid double-booking and costly misunderstandings, at normal vacation travel times, please allow Ryan to coordinate Thomas Transportation reservations. At other times, if parents do make reservations, please notify Ryan, preferably by email.